From baby to independent toddler – Fra baby til selvstændig tumling

Fraya 13 month and crazy about staircases

Fraya 13 month and crazy about staircases

English: We entered a new phase in Frayas development about 4 months ago… It feels like we always enter new phases in her development but this one was a little more dramatic. And although I knew it would come, I’m still taken aback. My little baby isn’t so little anymore. She’s becoming quite an independent young lady. I think I first started noticing it when she was about 13 months. We live on third floor, and that is just not enough stairs for her, so she’d keep on climbing up to the fifth floor if we didn’t stop her. And if we did stop her, she’d get extremely angry with us, throw herself on the floor and scream in anger and frustration. It was in moments like these that I hardly recognised my little baby.
I had to remind myself to be patient and remember how positive this all was. She’s developing, she is active, and she wants to do things on her own. The fact that she wants to walk up the stairs is fantastic, cause at one point I shouldn’t and I won’t be able to carry her anymore. It will give her self-confidence to learn new things and to be able to do things herself.
Another thing I had to remind myself of was to pick my battles… the day could be one long echo of “no no no” and conflicts if I didn’t. And I tried to remind myself of praising her as much as I could.
Now that she’s almost 17 months old I see how the hysterical and frustrated temper-tantrums has cooled of. One thing that helps us is to involve her in the everyday tasks, fx she gets to put the laundry into the machine, she passes me the laundry when I hang it up, she takes the plates out of the dishwasher for me, helps me empty the grocery bags etc.

I hope my experience and what I saw could help her, can help you. If you have more tips and advice on how to best deal with this age please share.

Dansk :
Vi trådte ind i en ny fase i Frayas udvikling omkring 4 måneder siden … Det føles som om vi altid træder ind i nye faser i hendes udvikling, men dette var lidt mere dramatisk.Og selvom jeg vidste, at det ville komme, var jeg stadig overrasket. Min lille baby er ikke så lille længere. Hun er ved at blive en selvstændig ung dame. Jeg tror, ​​jeg først begyndte at lægge mærke til det, da hun var omkring 13 måneder. Vi bor på 2. sal, og det er bare ikke nok trapper for hende, så hun ville fortsætte med at kravle op til femte sal, hvis vi ikke stoppede hende. Og hvis vi stoppede hende, ville hun blive ekstremt vred på os, kaste sig på gulvet og skrige i vrede og frustration. Det var i øjeblikke som disse, at jeg ikke kunne genkende min lille baby.

Jeg var nødt til at minde mig selv om at være tålmodig og huske, hvor positiv det egentlig var. Hun udvikler sig, hun er aktiv, og hun ønsker at gøre tingene selv. Det faktum, at hun ønsker at gå op ad trappen er fantastisk, for på et tidspunkt bør jeg ikke og jeg vil ikke være i stand til at bære hende længere. Det vil give hende selvtillid til at lære nye ting og at være i stand til at gøre ting selv.

En anden ting jeg var nødt til at minde mig selv om, var at plukke mine kampe … dagen kunne være en lang ekko af “nej nej nej”, og konflikter, hvis jeg ikke gjorde det. Og jeg forsøgte at minde mig selv om at være tålmodig og lade hende prøve at gøre så meget som muligt selv og at rose hende så meget som jeg kunne.

Nu, hvor hun er næsten 17 måneder gammel ser jeg, hvordan de hysteriske og frustrerede raserianfald er kølet af. En ting, der hjælper os, er at involvere hende i de daglige opgaver, fx hun får lov til at ligge vasketøj i maschine, hun rækker mig vasketøjet når jeg hænger det op, hun tager tallerknerne ud af opvaskemaskinen for mig, hjælper mig med at tømme indkøbsposer osv.

Jeg håber, at min erfaring og hvad jeg så kunne hjælpe hende, kan hjælpe dig. Hvis du har flere tips og råd om, hvordan man bedst håndtere denne alder er du meget velkommen til at skrive en kommentar.

 

20140613-135524.jpg

Testing out her own limits… Fraya looking danger in the eyes at 13 months

 

 

Leave a Reply

