Babyfriendly Christmastree

20131222-211110.jpg

English: A couple of months ago I was convinced that we were not going to have a Christmas tree at home this year. It simply wouldn’t work having the job I have. I take care of my daughter Fraya and another little girl, Agnes, in my home. They are both 11 months old, and the temptation would simply be too great for them. I’m afraid I would spend most of my day telling them not to touch the tree or the ornaments or not to eat the pine needles.
But we have come up with a compromise. We’ve bought a small tree and placed it on a table. This way the girls won’t be able to get to it. And on the bright side, a small tree is cheaper than a big tree. 🙂

I’ve hung a couple of plastic Christmas balls in the very bottom of the tree, that Fraya can just reach, and she can safely touch and take off. She has a lot of fun doing that.

The topstar is one I have made. It is made very simply of two pieces of paper glued together at the edges. A small piece of the edge has been left unglued so the top of the tree can get into the star.

Dansk: For et par måneder siden var jeg overbevist om, at vi ikke skulle have et juletræ herhjemme i år. Det ville simpelthen ikke fungere med det job, jeg har. Jeg passer min datter Fraya og en anden lille pige, Agnes, i mit hjem. De er begge 11 måneder gamle, og fristelsen ville simpelthen være for stor for dem. Jeg er bange for jeg ville tilbringe det meste af min dag med at fortælle dem at de ikke må røre træet eller pynten eller ikke at spise grannåle.
Men vi er nået frem til et kompromis. Vi har købt et lille træ, og det har vi stillet på et bord. på den måde er pigerne ikke i stand til at komme til det. Og på den lyse side, et lille træ er billigere end et stort træ. 🙂

Jeg har hængt et par af plast julekugler i allernederst af træet, som Fraya lige præcis kan nå, og som hun trygt kan røre og tage af. Hun har en masse sjov at gøre det.

Topstjernen er en jeg selv har lavet. Den er lavet meget simpelt af to stykker papir som er limet sammen i kanterne. Et lille stykke af kanten er blevet ladet ulimet så grantoppen kan komme ind i stjernen.

lille Fraya kan lige præcis nå de nederste julekugler

lille Fraya kan lige præcis nå de nederste julekugler

Agnes og Fraya har travlt med at undersøge julekuglerne

Agnes og Fraya har travlt med at undersøge julekuglerne

Leave a Reply

