You’re never too old… Or Young… For an advent calendar!

English: Finally it’s the first of Advent. And what a beautiful morning we had. My husband had set the breakfast table the night before to surprise me, and he had done it so well! A pretty tablecloth, my favorite cups and the Advent decoration was put in place and waiting for me when I got up this morning . And I got up this morning with the same childish joy of anticipation that always plays a little in my stomach the first of Advent. Because you’re never too old to be spoiled a little! I LOOOOOOOVE that both my mother and I as well as Paolo and I exchange Advent gifts every year.

And this year, it is also Frayas turn. She won’t remember it, and she can not associate it with the expectation of Christmas as we others do. But it’s as much for my own and Paolo’s sake, as for her, that she gets advent gifts. For it was so nice to show her this morning that there was something in her Christmas stocking, to see her natural talent for tearing paper into pieces come into play when the gift was to be opened, and to see her enthusiasm for the little Maileg mouce hiding in the gift .

It’s wonderful to create memories together.

Dansk: Endelig første advent. Og sikke en skøn morgen vi havde. Min mand havde dækket morgenbordet aftenen før for at overraske mig, og hold da op hvor havde han gjort det godt! Fin dug, yndlingskopperne og adventskransen var pænt stillet op og ventede på mig da jeg kom op i morges. Og jeg stod op i morges med den samme barnlige forventningens glæde som altid spiller lidt i maven den første advent. For man bliver aldrig for gammel til at blive forkælet lidt vel? Jeg EEEEELSKER at jeg, både med min mor og med Paolo udveksler adventsgaver hvert år.

Og i år er det også Frayas tur. Hun husker det jo nok ikke, og hun kan ikke forbinde det med forventningen om julen sådan som vi andre gør det. Men det er lige så meget for min egen og Paolos skyld, som for hendes, at hun får adventsgaver. For det var så hyggeligt at vise hende i morges at der lå noget i hendes julestrømpe, at se hendes naturtalent for at rive papir i stykker komme til sin ret da gaven skulle åbnes og at se hendes begejstring for den lille Maileg mus som gemte sig i gaven.

Det er skønt at skabe minder sammen.

20131201-223956.jpg

20131201-224009.jpg

20131201-224023.jpg

20131201-224036.jpg

20131201-224101.jpg

Leave a Reply

